Skip to content

Halloween Song List

October 27, 2012

It’s Halloween weekend, so I decided to post a list of some of my favorite songs to listen to around Halloween to get my in the spirit of the season.

I want you to know before we get started that this is no way a definitive list of songs representing Halloween. This is MY list, with songs that put ME in the Halloween spirit.

Image from elpasoco.com

Now that that is settled, let’s get to the list:

1. “Before I Forget” by Slipknot

This song has a riff thatis easy to head bang to, and it’s easy to sing a long with. Slipknot is a band that wear’s masks, which just adds to the Halloween fun.

2. “Halloween” by AFI

This song has Halloween in the title, and is constantly repeated throughout the song. It has a slow riff that just makes you feel like it should put the song in a scary movie.

3. “Welcome To My Nightmare” by Alice Cooper

This song is on the list for a couple reasons. 1. It’s Alice Cooper 2. It introduces you into the strange and scary things that could possibly give that person a nightmare, which goes great with Halloween.

4. “Breakdown” by Seether

This song is on here because it got a lot of radio play during the fall of my junior year of high school, listening to Q101 in Chicago. I listened to this song on Halloween and several days leading up to it.

5. “Bullet With Butterfly Wings” by Smashing Pumpkins

The chorus “Despite all my rage I am still just a rat in  a cage” makes me think of older scary movies.

6. “Detroit Rock City” by KISS

This song is very heavy and most things about KISS scream Halloween, from the makeup to the platform shoes. If you play this song, you know your Halloween is going to rock.

7. “My Michelle” by Guns N’ Roses

The lyrical content of this song is sad and depressing, and could be something that you would see in a horror movie.

8. “Hells Bells” by AC/DC

The gong in this song alone should be enough to add to the theme for Halloween, but the riff and the lyrics follow it right back up, adding to the tense feel.

9. “Pet Sematary” by Ramones

This song makes it really hard to not think of the movie.

10.”When Worlds Collide” by Powerman 5000

This song has an industrial feel and almost makes you feel like you could be in a haunted house.

Rock Question Of The Week:

What songs put you in the mood for Halloween? Let us know in the comments section.

From → Rock News

One Comment
  1. This has been fun to think about. Some songs are better than others, these are what came to mind as I thought of the words “Halloween music.”

    4. “Feed My Frankenstein” by Zodiac Mindwarp. Most in the US who know this song know it from Alice Cooper singing it in Wayne’s World, but I believe it’s Mindwarp’s. For those not in the know, Zodiac Mindwarp was a British shock rocker of the late 1980’s, and I thought his band was pretty damned good. “Prime Mover” and “Spasm Gang” were some of their better songs in my opinion- I’m not a big fan of this song so much. Kinda goofy, not in a good way.

    3. “Halloween” by Helloween. The 1980’s were a different time, kids. Be grateful that Nirvana and Jane’s Addiction came along and changed the ethos. But for its time, there were many worse metal bands than these Germans, who weren’t unlike an Iron Maiden that liked dorkier subject matter. This song’s 13-plus minutes too, so put on a pot of coffee if you want to hear its full glory. Makes me want to look up a fellow metalhead from high school English.

    2. “Halloween” and “We Are 138” by the Misfits. I liked the latter song a lot better when I was told that 138 referred to the number of angels falling from heaven in biblical lore, and was sad when I learned the reference is for something else. Not many bands better than the Misfits, I say.

    1. “The Monster Mash” by Bobby “Boris” Pickett. Unsure if his side band was truly the Cryptkeeper 5 or if that’s just one of the lyrics. Such a goofy song, but I find it fun, particularly the drum fill that takes the verse to the chorus. (Some years ago some KCOU jokester played it on air and pressed repeat, and this continued for a day and a half, no exaggeration.) The more recent Misfits covered it, doing a decent job. The original tracks are in Branson MO, which I find hilarious. I kinda feel for the guy for having this be his one hit, but he’s guaranteed work every October at least, on a Rosie or Ellen afternoon show. Has an innuendo or two, also.

Leave a Reply

